Niece’s 1st Birthday Dress…

Oh my goodness, I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love being an auntie!  Joey and I do not plan on having children of our own and my siblings aren’t married, nor do they have children.  On Joey’s side, his sister, had a baby, Allison.  And she is the cutest little thing I have ever met.  Thankfully she lives in the house next to ours so we are blessed to see her quite often.  I asked my sister-in-law if it would be okay if I made her birthday dress and I can’t even get enough of it!

I used this tutorial here.  I found the fabric at JoAnn’s during their after-Thanksgiving day sale and since I only purchased a half-yard of each, I actually paid less than $5 for all the fabric.  Then, since you don’t actually need the full half-yard, I have quite a bit left over.

Allie is tall, but tiny so I didn’t get to use the measurements indicated in the tutorial.  Rather, I used fabric which was 38 inches long since her waist is only 19 inches circumference.   Which means I also added on an inch to each of my layers for a little extra length so it would hit at her knees.  I had the bottom layer of 11 inches by 38 inches, middle layer as 9 inches by 38 inches and the top as 7 inches by 38 inches.

img_4772

Life was great putting the layers together similarly adding the elastic waist was easy.  Before wrapping up about a week before her party I double checked to make sure the elastic would be tight enough or too tight before finishing.  Goodness knows she grows like a weed.  The hardest part was stitching up the side to enclose the elastic.  I wasn’t able to use my sewing machine and had to finish by hand.  She’ll grow out of the dress soon enough so I know she won’t be able to ruin it.  But it wasn’t very clear in the directions how to close it up, so I did the best I could.

img_4774

I then decided she needed a top, so I went to Carter’s and found a white onsie in her 12 month old size and appliqued a large “1” with the pink fabric from her dress.  This was the most expensive piece of her outfit, you can’t just buy one onsie, you have to buy a pack.  Thankfully they were 75% off and she got an extra 3 that her mom and dad can use as they see fit.  I used a word document and found a fun font for the number 1 and printed it out largely, centered on the onsie and used clear thread to applique.

img_4773

All together the outfit looks adorable!

img_4771

Today we celebrated her first birthday, even though it’s not until the 9th.  But oh, isn’t she just so precious?!

img_4796

Of course we needed a selfie with her favorite auntie!  Luckily, I’m her only auntie on this side of the family so she’s stuck, for now…until one of the other 3 uncles get married, of course 🙂

img_4808

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

