Venison Enchiladas

About once a week I like to try a new recipe and I am so bad about modifying recipes and then NEVER writing down what I did, so this is the first attempt at my modification of a basic enchilada recipe.  My husband and brother had shot 2 deer this past fall and so our freezer is full of deer meat, ground, roasts, steaks, you name it, we have it.  I’ve been craving enchiladas and many recipes use chicken, but I wanted some venison on this cold winter evening in Fargo…uuugggh -30 below wind chills!!

So here is what you need:

  • 1 pound ground venison
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 10 small flour tortillas
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 2 cups beef broth (I didn’t have a can so I made homemade with 2 tsp beef bullion and 2 cups water, boiled until dissolved)
  • 3 cups shredded cheese (I used what was in the fridge…part was cheddar the other was Monterrey Jack)
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup salsa (I used our homemade spicy stuff)
  • 1/2 package of taco seasoning mix

I preheated my oven to 350 and sprayed a 9 x 13 cake pan with olive oil cooking spray.

I browned the venison until done, mixed in 1/4 cup of water with the taco seasoning then let it cool slightly in a bowl.  While the venison was cooling I prepared the beef broth.

Once the beef broth was prepared, the ground venison seemed cool enough and I added in about 1 cup of the cheese and mixed well.  once mixed, I took about 1 big scoop of the venison/cheese mix placed on a tortilla and rolled.  Depending upon how big you scoop, I ended up with about 10 rolled tortillas placed in my 9 x 13 pan.

Over medium heat I melted the butter then added the flour.  I whisked these together for about 1 minute, I noticed the flour/butter mixture was starting to “fluff”.  This is when I added in my beef broth, whisking together.  The mixture became thick and bubbly.  I took off the burner and added in the sour cream and salsa, whisking until the sour cream was melted in.  I poured over the enchiladas.  I topped them with the extra remaining cheese and maybe a little more.

Baked for about 25 minutes until the cheese was bubbly and melted…broiled the last couple of minutes.

Topped with extra salsa and lettuce.

My husband LOVED these!! He is quite the picky eater when it comes to new recipes, but he is a redneck at heart and anything with wild game is the perfect meal for him.  Little does he know I am using his precious deer steak for strogonoff next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

