A new recipe!!

I was telling Joey not too long ago that I was getting bored with what I was cooking, we usually cook the same things over and over; chilli, tacos, meatloaf, potatoes, veggies, etc.  So, I was on a mission to find something new.  I found a recipe on pinterest which used pork roast in the crock pot until it shreds and had a Mexican flare to it, but I didn’t have any pork roast, but I did have some chicken breasts so I used the recipe as a base, but modified it to what I wanted!

My favorite recipes including dumping in a crock pot and going!  This is one of those!!

Dump the following in a medium crock pot, set on low and return 8 – 10 hours later!

  • 4 frozen chicken breasts
  • 1 medium chopped onion (I still have some left from the garden!)
  • 1 package of taco seasoning
  • 1 small can of diced chilles
  • 1 can of enchilada sauce, I used the green, since I was using chicken.

I stopped at the grocery store and picked up a box of Mexican Style rice to prepare with the shredded chicken mix.

When I got home, I preheated the oven to 325 and using my cupcake tin, flipped over, I made super cute bowls with the taco shells, baking for roughly 10 minutes or so.

Tortilla Bowls

Tortilla Bowls

Once fully baked, I put the rice in the bowls first, then the shredded chicken mix, topped with homemade salsa, lettuce, cheese and sour cream.  Oh they were so delightful!  They were so fresh!  Joey, his oh so manly self didn’t prefer the meal, he said it would have been way better if we would have served them like this at a dinner party or something.  What does he really know?  Little does he know, I WILL be making this again, maybe not right away, but I will!

Shredded Chicken over Rice

Shredded Chicken over Rice

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

