House updates….

Outside of the realm of everything going on with myself, my husband and I have been super busy working on a bunch of outdoor updates and time is of the essence as winter seems to be fast approaching.  The first item completed was the removal of a bunch of bushes that were half dead or were prickly and I was super angry about stepping on the thorns with my bare feet.

Plant removal

Plant removal

Who in their right mind would plant bushes that were full of thorns…the leaves get caught in it,  which are ridiculous to get out!!  Anyways between the hasta and the day lilly their in the back there were about 5 thorn bushes….GONE!! I think it looks so much more clean looking.

Gone!

Gone!

This is on the north side of the front door and there were 3 thorny plants here and then a couple around the corner.  I am browsing though a catalog to see what kind of perennial flowers I want to plant.

Mess

Mess

What a mess!!!?  I was able to remove these plants by hooking a wire around the bush base, which was hooked the hitch of Joey’s pick up.  I put that baby in 4 wheel drive and off I went…and so did the plants!! Ha!!

After cleaning all of that up, took about an entire afternoon to get it looking appropriate we had discovered that the wood we needed to build our fence was on sale, so off to Menards we went.

We first built small portion of the fence to attach the three season porch to the garage.  Digging a hole manually with rocks, is NOT fun!

Fence

Fence

I screwed all of those dog ear boards on, MYSELF.  Of course I had a wee bit of assistance from my husband to get me started, but once he got the 4 x 4’s cemented in the ground and the 2 x 4s attached, I was off!  We are looking at possibly putting a water garden in front of the fence there, still unsure and it might come some many months away, but we will see how it goes.

Down Trees!

Down Trees!

I went to work one morning and the husband said, “I am bringing home a Bobcat today.”   I was so thankful I was at work that day, because when I came home there were two huge trees fallen on the north side of my yard!! OMG!!  Not only that, but it was literally the hottest day ever out so when I got home, I had to rake a bunch of leaves and pick up sticks while Joey, his brother (the one in the green) and Joey’s cousin chainsawed up the rest.  The trunk will make some great wood for the fireplace this year.

Digging Holes

Digging Holes

Once the trees were taken down and another free weekend was available, Joey, his cousin and brother came over and they dug some holes with this strange contraption, much easier than by hand.  Within two days, the posts were in the ground cemented, the 2 x 4s were hung and all the dog ear boards installed.  I am so blessed with all the help we had!

Posts

Posts

There Zeus is, getting super excited waiting for his fence so he can run like a free bird!

Squaring Up

Squaring Up

Here Scott (Joey’s cousin) is cutting off the ends of the 2 x 4s for the far corner of the yard.  He was such an amazing help!

Finished!

Finished!

Finally finished!!  This is the inside of the fence and let me tell you the dogs absolutely LOVE IT!!  Take a 180 degree turn and this is the other side.

Yay!

Yay!

See all the wood on the right hand side of the photo…well that will be next, we have to split all the wood from the trees they took down.  We also need to burn the stumps, which I am hoping we can get done before winter arrives.

The garden is quickly coming to an end.  I will be pulling the remainder this weekend and we will be working on pouring a cement slab also this weekend, I am hopeful.  There are some big plans we have for next summer, but for now, am a little excited for winter as we have some huge plans for FINALLY finishing the living room!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

