Garden Update!

It has been approximately 2 months since we have planted our garden, almost to the date!  Things have moved and shaked and grown tremendously that I wanted to share some updates.  I was worried for a bit as we had a spell of rain rain rain!!  Now we are in some kind of heat wave where there is NO rain so we are watering and using miracle grow quite often to keep all the deliciousness growing!

Beautiful Pink Flower

Beautiful Pink Flower

Excessive water has drowned my petunias quite a bit so they aren't as big and beautiful as the should be.

Excessive water has drowned my petunias quite a bit so they aren’t as big and beautiful as the should be.

Great Balls of Fire!

Great Balls of Fire!

I just picked through my geraniums picking all the dead stuff off, but they are very fresh smelling!

I just picked through my geraniums picking all the dead stuff off, but they are very fresh smelling!

Some marigolds...a little knocked over as my dog decided to jump over the pot for some reason...

Some marigolds…a little knocked over as my dog decided to jump over the pot for some reason…

The dill has started to seed, just need some cukes to make some pickles now!

The dill has started to seed, just need some cukes to make some pickles now!

Onions, Peppers, Jalapenos, hot peppers, and tomatoes

Onions, Peppers, Jalapenos, hot peppers, and tomatoes

Tomatoes are getting large and round!!

Tomatoes are getting large and round!!

Beans on the left and Sugar Snap Peas on the right.

Beans on the left and Sugar Snap Peas on the right.

As you can see above, our sugar snap peas have kinda flopped over.  We have never grown these before so I am getting the feeling that they need to have something to crawl on?  Anyone have any ideas?

First pick of beans and peas...they are incredibly delicious!

First pick of beans and peas…they are incredibly delicious!

Pickling cukes on the top and regular burpless cukes on the bottom.  Little flowers with itty bitty cukes are a growing.

Pickling cukes on the top and regular burpless cukes on the bottom. Little flowers with itty bitty cukes are a growing.

Strawberries...are doing much better than last year!

Strawberries…are doing much better than last year!

While my parents were up, they decided my house plant, peace plant, I guess it’s called wasn’t doing so well.  Mom said it needed to have way more light so we did a little work to it and put it in my three season porch.  She also got me this really cool little terra cotta poke thing that goes into the plant and you prop a wine bottle upside down on it to help keep it watered.  This is the 3rd bottle of water I have used on this thing since last weekend!

CAM00356

We have this cistern and after put up a small shed behind my garage my dad noticed some rocks and stacked them as such….

Stacked Rocks

Stacked Rocks

My dad said that it’s good luck for farmers to stack rocks on top of one another for a good harvest season.  He put the rocks over the hole of cistern (which I thought was to keep mosquitoes from multiplying in the water) to help us have good luck with our harvest this year.  Hmmm…anyone else hear of this tradition?

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

