Jam!

What a busy weekend!!  My folks came up on Wednesday night, spent the entire day at the demolition derby in Sanborn on the 4th followed up with some awesome fireworks, hosted a family bbq at my place on Friday, said “Adios” to the family on Saturday morning and made strawberry jam on Sunday.  Whew!!  Just thinking of all that work makes me exhausted, I need a vacation from my vacation.

Although I didn’t get to pick the strawberries myself, they did come fresh from Sam’s Club.  I find their produce section to be very delightful!!  I am still in search of a “pick your own berry farm” near Fargo, but that is reaching to be extremely difficult.

I had some strawberry jam left over from last year that didn’t turn out so well, it was very sugary and hardly any strawberry taste.  All 17 jars went down the drain.  My rational as to why it did not turn out is that jam/jelly needs to be completed in SMALL batches.  My husbands bright idea was to double the batch and be done more quickly.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way, but far be it for me to know more than him, case it point, I win!!

First I washed my strawberries and cheated a wee bit by food processing them until they were squishy.  I put the 5 cups of smashed strawberries and one box of pectic (yes, I know I cheat) into a pot.

Mashed Strawberries

Mashed Strawberries

While the strawberry mixture started to get warm I placed my jars in a hot water bath. This year I have tried a new jar size the Jelly Jar 4 0z size.  Since the pint jars seem to be just too much for the two of us to use in a reasonable amount of time.  I picked up just a 12 pack case of them to see what we think.

Jars

Jars

So by now my strawberry mixture has started to slightly boil and I have found out from past experience it is important to keep stirring, you don’t want this delicious mixture to burn to the bottom of your pot.   Once at a full rolling boil while stirring, I dumped in 7 cups of sugar!!  7, that’s right, 7 cups of sugar!!

Sugar

Sugar

The sugar quickly dissolved into the strawberry mixture and it smelled so delicious.  It took about 5 minutes for the mixture to come to a full rolling boil again and timed it for 1 minute while stirring constantly. Once the minute was over, I took the top layer of the foam off with a spoon before I filled my jars.  I wiped all the jars down before placing warm lids on top.   They then went into the boiling water canning process for 10 minutes.

Cooling

Cooling

The jam was able to cool all day long before the husband wanted to get his hands on some.  It set up beautifully, as expected and oh did it taste so wonderful!

Jam

Jam

Yummy!

Yummy!

The next I want to tackle and try is a triple berry jam with Strawberries, Raspberries and blackberries.  Hopefully soon!  In the meantime, my garden needs some serious weeding!!

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

