Living room is complete!

A couple of weeks ago, I had some friends come over.  At that time I realized I had only completed 1 of the 4 valences needed to complete my living room windows.  It kinda looked….awkward!  So in a fit of rage and time constraints I got up super early to try and finish the valences…only time had gotten away from me and I ended up only completing 3 of the 4 valences.  Then a couple days later finished the 4th.  Upon arrival of my friends they didn’t even notice that one was missing…HA!!  So it really wouldn’t have mattered, but wanted to present a completed living room to show them.

Joey and I found the fabric choices at JoAnn’s since he wanted something outdoorsey to match the decor of the “cabin look.”  Thankfully we both agreed on the same two fabric choices.

Valence

Valence

I didn’t use a pattern, but more or less looked at the old ones I had to determine how big they needed to be.  But then I decided to have the extra challenge of adding on a top kind of accent color to go with them so it would be more girly, if you will.

Close-Up

Close-Up

I learned my lesson from creating the valence in the bathroom that I needed to make the valence wider to get the wavy look.  The one in the bathroom looks a little stiff and straight and in the living room I wanted something more relaxed.  The cutting of the fabric was the most difficult as they needed to be so wide (about double the width of the window).  But all in all, after the cutting and a rough draft of notes on how I would assemble them, I started stitching away.  I am so pleased with the final project!  Joey just loves them and it really completes the room.

Valence

Valence

Valence

Valence

On a side note…do you see those antlers up above, I mounted the set myself.  Now, I didn’t get the deer myself, that was Joey’s doing, but I think I did a pretty great job of mounting them.  We have 4 sets like this and then a European mount for his BIG deer he shot a few years back.  European mount is below…

Valence

Valence

After creating these beautiful valences I had just enough fabric to make a small table runner for our coffee table.  I used this youtube video called “10 – Minute Table Runner.”  I didn’t have quite enough for a 1/2 and 1/3 yard as indicated in the video, so I made a little smaller  version, but the overall directions are still the same.

Table Runner

Table Runner

Once I got all the pieces cut out nice and square and ready to sew it took me 18 minutes to sew all the pieces together, plus iron.  I am a little slower than the average sewer I guess.

Table Runner

Table Runner

I also liked the idea of top stitching the triangle down.  I am in need of a couple buttons to jazz it up a bit, but have to find the perfect ones!  Any ideas?

 

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

