Wasting time on Pintrest…

Well, my friend, Sam, her birthday is coming up and I am NOT going to flop like I did with Jen’s birthday.  Bless her heart for being so understanding at my failures!!  So, Sam and I, we go way back, like 3rd grade way back just like Jen and I…we are the three musketeers!!  Sam and I love to swap books, we do this a couple times a month, if allowable, so since her birthday is coming up at the beginning of June I wanted to create something really unique and homemade that pertained to our book hobby.  So, there I was searching Pintrest…wasting HOURS of time!!!  I found this really cute picture of a wreath and although the link to the directions was broken, I told myself, “I got this!”

After Joey’s doc appointment we headed straight over to JoAnn’s, which as we all know, is his favorite store…just kidding!!  I grabbed myself a straw wreath, some pre-cut burlap, hot glue sticks, raffia, Mod Podge and a wood block letter.

I wrapped the wreath in burlap like this…

Burlap Covered Wreath

Burlap Covered Wreath

The pre-cut burlap was about 8 or so inches wide so I cut them down into about 4 inch strips and started wrapping around the wreath, hot gluing every time I turned on the back side for security.

Then, I went to this really cute cozy used book store in Valley City called “Ye Old Book Store.”  Oh the treasures!!!  I found myself a math textbook from 1915! Score!! (Nerd in me coming out).  Anyways moving through the store I found an old poem book that had yellowed pages which was perfect for my project.

I cut out about 125 of the pages and started rolling each page up like a little scroll and tied with the raffia.

Scrolls

Scrolls

I then started hot gluing the scrolls onto the wreath randomly.  The rolling of the scrolls and tying probably took the longest time of the whole project.  Plus my dog ate my glue sticks so I had to go to the store and get more.  Whoops!!

After getting all the scrolls just perfect on my wreath, I took a page out of the book and traced the letter “M” from my wood block.  I brushed some Mod Podge on the letter, gently pressed the cut out page onto the letter.  When dried, I brushed Mod Podge on top of the letter for a finished look.  Then, hot glued the letter in place.  I chose “M” because her last name begins with “M.”

"M"

“M”

The final project!

Wreath

Wreath

I am so excited with how this wreath turned out and it has inspired me to create something similar for myself for my front entry way.  I like to change out my wreaths with the season and this would be perfect for those months where there are no holidays.  I am ex-tactic to show this to Sam for her birthday and hope she loves it just as much as I do!

 

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

