Paw Paw Party!

Since we have been married the next logical question is, “when are ya gonna have babies?”  Well, for those who know us know that I, we, absolutely ADORE our dogs.  I have mentioned Zeus.  He is our recent rescue.  We have had him for well over a year now.  He celebrated his 2nd birthday on March 21st.  He is 1/2 bull mastiff, 1/4 terrier and 1/4 spaniel.  An interesting combination if I do say so myself.  He has so much energy, but at the end of the day loves to be cuddled to sleep.  Then, we have Rolo.  We adopted Rolo just after he was weened from his mommy.  He was an “oops” puppy.  He is 1/2 pit bull and 1/2 yellow lab, the sweetest baby you would ever meet!  I love him to pieces.  His birthday is on the 29th and he will be 7.  Although he is getting old, he still has lots of spunk in him when you mention the word, “cookie” :0)  To celebrate this year I found an awesome cake recipe for the pups.

Doggie Birthday Cake, I got the recipe from AllRecipes.com.  I am always trying to find healthy homemade recipes for my furry four-legged friends and this one sounded pretty easy!

I wanted to make individual bundt cakes for Rolo and Zeus; however, after I got done mixing up all the ingredients together, the cake was very thick and sticky.

Cake Mix

Cake Mix

Since the mix was so thick, I decided to put the mix into a bread loaf pan instead.  I also included the honey since I had some, even though the recipe said it was optional.

Cake!

Cake!

I baked my cake at 350 for 30 minutes and was done perfectly!

Cake

Cake

The aromas of this cake smelled delicious.  I cut up a couple pieces and placed them neatly on plates for the pups; however it didn’t last long as the ate them without even chewing!!

Zeus

Zeus

Rolo

Rolo

I even got to snap a couple of photos of Zeus and Rolo with their birthday hats!

Rolo

Rolo

Rolo doesn’t particularly like his birthday hat, he was much happier taking a photo without his hat!! 🙂

Since we also had Joey’s brother over, I made some no-bake oatmeal cookies for us to have to celebrate with Rolo and Zeus.

No bake Oatmeal Cookies

No bake Oatmeal Cookies

I actually got this recipe from Joey’s mother and they are super easy!

No-Bake Oatmeal Cookies

1/2 cup butter

1/2 milk

1 cup sugar

4 tbsp peanut butter

2 tbsp cocoa

2 cups quick oats

Directions:

1.  Place some parchment paper down on the counter.

2.  Combine butter, milk and sugar together until melted in a pot.

3.  Rapidly boil the sugar mixture together for one minute while stirring constantly.  Turn off heat!

4.  Once the minute is up quickly stir in the peanut butter (extra tbsp if you like peanut butter like me!), cocoa and oats until mixture thickens and is clumpy.  The mixture will thicken as you stir in the remaining ingredients.

5.  Take a spoonful of mixture at a time and let it “run” onto the parchment paper into the desired cookie size.

Let the cookies sit and cool for about 30 minutes before enjoying!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

