Bowl Cozy

It recently came to my attention while trying to filter through my jump drive that I had a sewing pattern for a bowl cozy that was on my “to-do” list to make for a truly awesome friend back in JUNE of 2012, but had yet to complete such a task!  June is specific as every year my family and I attend Back to the 50s Weekend in Minneapolis and every year, Michael, joins us.  Also, ever year as he braves the Women’s Expo Craft Building and he gets himself some of these bowl cozies.  I told him last year to not spend his money on them and that I could definitely make him as many as he wants.

So! I had some left over fabric from a project I had made my husband from ooooh lets just say about 5 years or so ago and decided to make a go of it.   I also had a long 3-day weekend last weekend and needed some help filling the time.  This project literally took me less than 15 minutes!!

Bowl Cozy

Bowl Cozy

I don’t even remember where I had got the pattern, I has just cut and pasted the directions…ooppps!  Anyways it consisted of cutting 2 squares of about 12″ fabric, 1 for the top and 1 for the bottom.  Then, the pattern suggested using batting and cutting 2, 11 1/2″ squares, again, one for the top and 1 for the bottom.  I followed directions precisely.  Then, you were to quit in any patter you wished…well, I skipped that part on account I have never quilted before and didn’t want to mess it up.  Instead, I continued with the directions, making perfect darts! Then came the time to assemble the top and bottom pieces.  It went great up until the part where I was told to top stitch around the entire thing and BROKE 3 needles because it was just too thick, especially around the corners.  I even cut the corners back and everything!

CAM00079Overall, I think it turned out pretty good.  I think the next time I make this project, I will only put batting on one side, not both and cut the batting the same size as the top and bottom fabric.

Michael just received his bowl cozy in the mail yesterday and he LOVED it!  He was super excited about it, especially that it was the Ford theme!

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

