Pillow Fun!

Since graduating I have realized, I have a lot of time, I mean A LOT of time and most I spend rummaging through other blog websites and google for fun projects.  I have created a stash of leftover fabric remnants from various projects I have completed.  Some small and some large pieces, and I didn’t know what to do with them.

One of my many cousins’, Cami, is moving into a new place and had invited me to her housewarming party; however, I will be unable to attend, but still wanted to do create something nice for her for her new place.   I headed off to the internet in search of some ideas…

So, while surfing the web I came across a picture on Pinterest I believe, I can’t even remember…  using fabric scraps for leaves and the trunk.  If you notice real closely, the bright colors are from the fabric, I STILL have leftover from my bridesmaids table runner gifts I had made almost a year ago now.  So, using some fusible interfacing, which this time seemed to be a success, I used the interfacing to place the leaves sporadically around the tree trunk.  I then decided that I didn’t trust the interfacing to hold my leaves down so did a small satin stitch around each of the leaves with matching thread.  This was the first time I had used this stitch on my sewing machine and it didn’t go too bad once I got the hang of it!

Front

Front

I attached the leaves and the trunk to just a random matching piece of fabric I had.  I used a 14″ by 14″ pillow insert and used the measurement guides according to Crafty Gemini’s YouTube video tutorial.

Pillow Side

Pillow Side

Since I had satin stitched each of the pieces, I didn’t want my thread showing in the back so I decided to line the back of my fabric with some plain white fabric I had to hide those stitches.  That worked great!  I then thought that it would be appropriate to line the envelope style back pieces, which also worked great; however, when I then tried to stitch the front and the envelope back pieces together to make one solid piece, it didn’t go ever the exact way I had hoped so I have an idea for the next time I do this.

Back

Back

Also, on a fun note!  My husband, bless his heart, gave up his “man cave” so I could set up my new sewing table and supplies!!  Yay!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Valentine’s Pillow and such… « Harmony Venburg

Leave a Reply

Wedding

Wedding DaySeptember 1st, 2012
Our Wedding Day!

Categories

